Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Dr. George Placeplay_circle_filledDr. George PlaceCounty Extension Director (828) 465-8247 gtplace@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Tina McGillvaryplay_circle_filledTina McGillvary4-H Program Assistant (828) 465-8240 (Office) tmmcgill@ncsu.eduCatawba County CenterPhoto of Donna Mullplay_circle_filledDonna MullExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 465-8240 (Office) donna_mull@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Glenn Detweiler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGlenn DetweilerArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock (828) 465-8246 glenn_detweiler@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Local Foods

Photo of April Vigardtplay_circle_filledApril VigardtExtension Agent, Agriculture - Local Foods (618) 559-3390 alvigard@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Support

Photo of Natalie Clineplay_circle_filledNatalie ClineCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 465-8240 (Office) nscline@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Catawba County Center, they may not be present in the Catawba County Center. Please contact the Catawba County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Jenny Carleo, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJenny CarleoArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Grain Crops Serves 19 CountiesBased out of Iredell(704) 873-0507 (Office) jscarleo@ncsu.eduIredell County Center Photo of Marti Day, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarti DayArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Orange(919) 542-8202 marti_day@ncsu.eduOrange County Center Photo of April Dillon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril DillonArea Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development Serves 30 Counties and EBCIBased out of Cleveland(704) 482-4365 (Office) april_dillon@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Center Photo of Ashley Robbins, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAshley RobbinsArea Specialized Agent - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Chatham(919) 542-8203 ashley_robbins@ncsu.eduChatham County Center Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 414-3873 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center