Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of George Place, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. George PlaceCounty Extension Director (828) 465-8247 gtplace@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Donna Mull, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDonna MullExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 465-8240 (Office) donna_mull@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Anelle Ammons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAnelle AmmonsExtension Agent, Agriculture and Natural Resources (828) 465-8240 (Office) asammons@ncat.eduCatawba County CenterPhoto of Glenn Detweiler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGlenn DetweilerArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock (828) 465-8240 (Office) Glenn_Detweiler@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Andrea Sherrill, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAndrea SherrillArea Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences, Iredell and Catawba Counties (704) 878-3157 andrea_sherrill@ncsu.eduIredell County Center

Local Foods

Photo of April Vigardt, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril VigardtExtension Agent, Agriculture - Local Foods (828) 465-8243 alvigard@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Other

Natalie ClineCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 465-8240 (Office) nscline@ncsu.eduCatawba County CenterPhoto of Tina McGillvary, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionTina McGillvary4-H Program Assistant (828) 465-8240 (Office) tmmcgill@ncsu.eduCatawba County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Catawba County Center, they may not be present in the Catawba County Center. Please contact the Catawba County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Brent Buchanan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrent BuchananArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 26 CountiesBased out of Cleveland(315) 212-1277 babuchan@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Jenny Carleo, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJenny CarleoArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Grain Crops Serves 19 CountiesBased out of Iredell(704) 873-0507 (Office) jscarleo@ncsu.eduIredell County Center Photo of April Dillon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril DillonArea Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development Serves 30 Counties and EBCIBased out of Cleveland(704) 482-4365 (Office) april_dillon@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Center Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Center Photo of Rachel McDowell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRachel McDowellArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 34 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9155 romcdowe@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center