Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of George Place, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. George PlaceCounty Extension Director (828) 465-8247 gtplace@ncsu.eduCatawba County

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Donna Mull, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDonna MullExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 465-8240 (Office) donna_mull@ncsu.eduCatawba County

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Anelle Ammons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAnelle AmmonsAgriculture and Natural Resource Agent (828) 465-8240 (Office) asammons@ncsu.eduCatawba CountyPhoto of Glenn Detweiler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGlenn DetweilerArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock (828) 465-8240 (Office) Glenn_Detweiler@ncsu.eduCatawba County

Local Foods

Photo of April Vigardt, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril VigardtExtension Agent, Agriculture - Local Foods (828) 465-8243 alvigard@ncsu.eduCatawba County

Support

Photo of Beth Cloninger, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBeth CloningerCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 465-8240 (Office) beth_rogers@ncsu.eduCatawba County

Other

Photo of Tina McGillvary, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionTina McGillvary4-H Program Assistant (828) 465-8240 (Office) tmmcgill@ncsu.eduCatawba County

Area Specialized Agents

These agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Catawba County Center, they may not be present in the Catawba County Center. Please contact the Catawba County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Brent Buchanan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrent BuchananArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 26 CountiesBased out of Cleveland(315) 212-1277 babuchan@ncsu.eduCleveland County Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables & Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Photo of Rachel McDowell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRachel McDowellArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 34 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9155 romcdowe@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County